COVIDucation

AE Stueve
2 min readMay 24, 2020
Videos. I recorded seven episodes of “COVIDucation.”

After relatively normal first and second quarters in the 2019–2020 school year, I only taught approximately thirty days of third quarter. Due to two surgeries and a few changes in my medicinal cocktails, there was simply no going to work. In a way, I’ve been on quarantine since January, so when school was cancelled for the final quarter of the year, I was kind of ready for it.

For each of the seven weeks students were supposed to be learning, I created one semi-educational video. This weekend, as I am high on painkillers and oddly unable to sleep, the quality of my writing isn’t what it should be. With that in mind, I’ve decided to make this post your one stop shop for my seven “COVIDucation” videos. In these shorts, ranging from thirteen minutes to three minutes, I teach writing, design, photography, cooking, and filmmaking. In “COVIDucation #2,” I get a little help from my friends on music and design. If you’re interested, check them out.

AE Stueve’s COVIDucation #1: In which I explain to my students that there are more important things in life than school and that everyone should just chill for a bit.

AE Stueve’s COVIDucation #2: In which Mr. AJ Reimer and Ms. Julie Rowse join me to help teach writing, music theory, and design.

AE Stueve’s COVIDucation #3: In which I dig into the importance of expository writing as well as offer a cooking lesson.

AE Stueve’s COVIDucation #4: In which I teach sestina writing as well as short film creating.

AE Stueve’s COVIDucation #5: In which my lesson is all design all the time.

AE Stueve’s COVIDucation #6: In which I forgo my regular structure to offer a brief and direct lesson on copyright infringement.

AE Stueve’s COVIDucation #7: In which, for my final episode, I discuss photography.

Incidentally, I’m sure I’m going to have to make more for next year and they will be divided more clearly by subject….

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com