Title? Is it Chronic 2001 or just 2001? One of the mysteries of our age.

Project 365 Day #18

“Xxplosive” by Dr. Dre, featuring Hittman, Kurupt, Nate Dogg, & Six-Two

AE Stueve
Jan 18, 2023

--

“Xxplosive” from 2001, released in 1999

I hadn’t heard this song in a long time until yesterday when @mylothecat on Instagram released a video of Rock Bottom (of Felix the Cat fame) singing Nate Dogg’s verses. Watching that video, I was reminded of how much I love this vastly inappropriate song. Like, seriously, I cannot emphasize enough how inappropriate it is. The late 90s were a different time, folks, a different time. But you know what? Sometimes we all need to get a little inappropriate, which brings us to “Xxplosive.”

Nate Dogg, though, no matter what he is singing, is never inappropriate.

Keeping all of this in mind, I had to add “Xxplosive” to my list.

R.I.P Nate Dogg.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com