Tail. You should see the front.

Project 365 #40

“Paul Revere” by Beastie Boys

AE Stueve
Feb 9, 2023

--

“Paul Revere” from the album Licensed to Ill, released in 1986

A mid-80s old school rap song that was put together by Beastie Boys and Run of Run-DMC? AND it has the same meter as Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s “Paul Revere’s Ride”?

Fry. He gets it.

“Paul Revere” tells a fictional story about how the three members of Beastie Boys met. It is irreverent. It is hilarious. It is fun.

For me, not only is this a “no skip” song but it’s an “every word” song as well. That means I never skip it and I know every word. Honestly, it sometimes creeps into the “multiple repeats” category too.

That’s how much I like this backwards beat, made up adventure, classic of hip hop.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com