Cars. Cars are cool though.

Project 365 Day #106

AE Stueve

--

“My Head’s in Mississippi” by ZZ Top

“My Head’s in Mississippi” from the album Recycler, released in 1990

If you grew up in the 80s and 90s, ZZ Top was probably one of your dad’s favorite bands. If you were my dad, you liked them so much, you saw them live a number of times and played their music quite frequently, at least for a period of time.

I remember whenever my dad played ZZ Top, I knew he was going to be jamming. Sure, I didn’t understand what some of the songs meant (I’m looking at you “Tube Snake Boogie” and “Pearl Necklace”), but I knew the music was solid.

Unlike those other classics, “My Head’s in Mississippi” is surreal. It has all of ZZ Top’s traditional sounds — heavy guitars, Texas blues influenced beats, etc. But it’s just so weird.

I love weird.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com