Look Out! They’re escaping!

Project 365 Day #115

“Bury My Body” by The Animals

AE Stueve
Apr 25, 2023

--

“Bury My Body” from the album The Animals, released in 1964

One of my good friends introduced me to The Animals when we were teenagers and I’ve been hooked every since. There are many renditions of “Bury My Body.” It is another one of those songs with mysterious origins due to its folk tradition. The Animals’ version is the first one I heard. And it has stayed with me for years.

Somewhere between gospel and psychedelic rock, The Animals’ “Bury My Body” mixes the best of both worlds into a beautifully strange work. When you hear it, you aren’t sure if you want to snap your fingers or sing praises. Both?

It’s confusing in all the right ways.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com