Where? Where is he going? WHERE?

Project 365 Day #12

“Standing Outside A Broken Phone Booth With Money In My Hand” by Primitive Radio Gods

AE Stueve
1 min readJan 12, 2023

--

“Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth with Money in my Hand” from the album Rocket, released in 1996

Right off the bat, understand that many people were introduced to this alternative song through the movie, Cable Guy. If you haven’t seen that Jim Carey joint, I strongly suggest checking it out. It’s weird, not The Truman Show weird, but weird.

If that is any indication of this song’s vibe, you probably know why I like this one hit wonder so much. I like weird stuff. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

About the inability to connect, named after an older Bruce Cockburn song, and, as mentioned, weird AF, “Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth with Money in my Hand” is like a dream made into music.

Alternative indeed.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com