Hello? Hall & Oates calling please.

Project 365 Day #140

“You Make My Dreams” by Hall & Oates

AE Stueve
May 20, 2023

--

“You Make My Dreams” from the album Voices, released in 1980

Songfacts.com says that John Oates explained “You Make My Dreams” happened “through a happy accident, my guitar player friend of mine and myself were jamming in the dressing room, and I started playing a delta blues and he started playing a Texas swing, and we put them together, and all of a sudden into my head popped ‘you make my dreams.’ I just started singing it. I don’t know why, but I did. And it sounded really cool and everyone liked it. It was as simple as that.”

I mean, come on.

That’s pretty freaking cool.

And we all need a straight up happy song every now and again.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com