Motel. I’ve been there, Paul. I get it.

Project 365 Day #149

“Cocaine Country Dancing” by Paul Cauthen

AE Stueve
May 29, 2023

--

“Cocaine Country Dancing” from the album Room 41, released in 2019

Paul Cuathen and his longtime girlfriend broke up. This sent my boy, Paul, into something of a downward spiral that had him living in hotels, doing lots of drugs, drinking lots of alcohol, and dating lots of women.

Also, he made Room 41 an album whose outlaw country influence is on every track, but most specifically “Cocaine Country Dancing” which feels like a chaotic release of all of the emotions Cauthen was going through.

I’ve said it a million times, pain is a great place to be in when creating art.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com