Icons. Ska icons.

Project 365 Day #156

“A Message to You Rudy” by The Specials

AE Stueve
Jun 5, 2023

--

“A Message to You Rudy” from the album The Specials, released in 1979

This is one of the first songs I can remember liking. It was never as ubiquitous as I would’ve liked, but when I was a little boy it hooked me on every rare occasion that I heard it.

I didn’t even know it was considered ‘rocksteady’ until today. All my cards on the table, if someone had asked me what ‘rocksteady’ was this morning, I would have said, “That rhino guy from TMNT.” Now that I know rocksteady is a type of music, his name makes a lot more sense when it is partnered with his buddy Bebop.

The things music can teach you. Wow.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com