Mad. The guy is one of the most underrated mad rhyme spitters in hiphop history.

Project 365 Day #16

AE Stueve
1 min readJan 16, 2023

--

“Just a Friend” by Biz Markie

“Just a Friend” from the album The Biz Never Sleeps, released in 1989

I thought “Just a Friend” was at least five years older than it is. I’m not sure how I feel about that. But I know how I feel about this song.

I love it.

Everyone does. We all love it for obvious reasons. It has a great beat, its chorus, sampled to perfection, is, in a nutshell, catchy AF, and Biz Markie has a stage presence that few can compete with. But there’s more. This is one of those songs that’s sad and happy. Though mankind hates to admit it, we love a good paradox. A sad song that sounds happy? What bigger paradox is there?

Anyway, rumor has it, every time you play “Just a Friend,” Biz Markie flies higher.

R.I.P Biz

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com