Classic. Look. Photographic proof MTV was once all about music.

Project 365 Day #177

“Plateau” by Nirvana

AE Stueve
1 min readJun 26, 2023

--

“Plateau” from the album MTV Unplugged in New York: Nirvana, released in 1994

This is a Meat Puppets song. They do a great job performing it. But there was magic in Nirvana’s Unplugged performance (that actually included Curt and Cris Kirkwood of Meat Puppets). This is another entire album that could find a home on this list and might someday. We have 188 songs to go before the year is over after all.

I can’t pinpoint what it is about “Plateau” that I love so much. It doesn’t have a particularly distinct sound within the confines of Nirvana’s work. People have debated what it is about for a long time. So that is appealing. I know what I think it’s about though. So that’s appealing. Also, like I said above, it’s distinctly Nirvana, so that’s appealing.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com