Cool. He was cool. We all know it.

Project 365 Day #198

“Islands in the Stream” by Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers

AE Stueve
Jul 17, 2023

--

“Islands in the Stream” from the album Eyes That See in the Dark, released in 1983

I know this might make me kind of basic, but yesterday’s “Jolene” and today’s “Islands in the Stream” are, in all honesty, my two favorite Dolly Parton songs.

I know they’re pop hits and everyone likes them and I’m not breaking any ground including them on this list, but come on. I mean, they’re super popular for a reason, right?

Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton’s voices just work so well together in this sweet song about love. I really don’t need any other reason to like “Islands in the Stream” beyond that. But when you add that it was written by the BeeGees?

Let’s go! (as the kids say)

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com