Psychedelic. Not country.

Project 365 Day #199

“Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)” by Kenny Rogers and The First Edition

AE Stueve
1 min readJul 18, 2023

--

“Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)” from the album The First Edition, released in 1967

Before Kenny Rogers was a famous 1980s singer, he was a psychedelic rocker fronting The First Edition. I’m happy to live in a time when I can write that.

I’m happier to live in a time in which this song exists. I was introduced to it when I watched the movie The Big Lebowski and I haven’t looked back since. It’s an epic psychedelic rock number that is said to be a warning against using LSD.

I mean… okay.

It doesn’t feel that way though, guys. In fact, it feels quite the opposite. It must be frustrating from an artist’s point of view to know that the message wasn’t received. But from my point of view, as just a dude that likes music, it’s amazing.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com