Moving. The movers are doing their job with the art. That is all.

Project 365 Day #210

“Tom Sawyer” by Rush

AE Stueve
1 min readJul 29, 2023

--

“Tom Sawyer” from the album Moving Pictures, released in 1981

I mean, this one had to make the cut, right? It’s one of thier best known songs. Geddy Lee called it a “defining piece.” And it really is. Lyricst, Neil Peart had this to say about the song so many associate with the band:

“Tom Sawyer was a collaboration between myself and Pye Dubois, an excellent lyricist who wrote the lyrics for Max Webster. His original lyrics were kind of a portrait of a modern day rebel, a free-spirited individualist striding through the world wide-eyed and purposeful. I added the themes of reconciling the boy and man in myself, and the difference between what people are and what others perceive them to be — namely me, I guess.”

As Stan Lee would say, ‘nuff said.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com