Star Girl. Or something. I don’t know.

Project 365 Day #25

AE Stueve

--

“Zero” by The Smashing Pumpkins

“Zero” from the album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, released in 1996

Do you remember when Billy Corgan fully embraced Generation X teenage angst? It was before his “hanging out with Alex Jones and talking trash about Antifa” stage. It was even before his “I’m going to put down my guitar and play electronic music for some reason” stage.

It was awesome.

Though The Smashing Pumpkins have released several bangers in their career this one, made, I think, with one purpose and one purpose alone, is the pinnacle.

With lyrics like, “Emptiness is loneliness, and loneliness is cleanliness/And cleanliness is godliness, and God is empty/Just like me,”

the purpose is clear.

Piss off the squares.

I can dig it.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com