See. I told you it was creepy.

Project 365 Day #288

“My Sharona” by The Knack

AE Stueve
Oct 15, 2023

--

“My Sharona” from the album Get the Knack, released in 1979

My favorite thing about this song is how unintentionally creepy it is. I consider it something of a horror song, frankly. I mean, they are singing it about a teenager. And though it was 1979 when the song was released, looking back from 2023, I can see how creepy it is.

Then again, there is also the famous gas station scene from Reality Bites that plays it up for how ridiculous it is.

In other words, this little ditty is complicated.

But it also has a pretty catchy hook and an awesome rhythm.

So, you know, it’s a hit.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com