Icon. And his dogs.

Project 365 Day #35

“Tennessee Stud” by Johnny Cash

AE Stueve
1 min readFeb 4, 2023

--

“Tennessee Stud” from the album American Recordings, released in 1994

Written by Jimmy Driftwood, originally released in 1964, and covered by a slew of artists, “Tennessee Stud” really didn’t find its home until Johnny Cash covered it in 1994.

Another one of those storytelling songs I like so much, “Tennessee Stud” might be my favorite Cash cover. And that is high praise because, let’s be real, when Cash covers a song, he does it so well that it basically becomes his.

When I listen to this story of a man and his horse, I am whisked away to a different time and place. I am there with Cash and his horse, fighting for the woman he loves and eventually enjoying a peaceful life with the people and animals I love best.

That’s magic.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com