Sniff. It smells like progrock.

Project 365 Day #36

“Subdivisions” by Rush

AE Stueve
Feb 5, 2023

--

“Subdivisions” from the album Signals, released in 1982

That’s right. I’m a Rush fan.

But, I mean, if you saw me, I kind of give Rush fan.

Anyway, there are several Rush songs I can call my favorite, but this one with its clear message about what it is like to be a lonely teenage outcast speaks to me. Rush, not content to tell a story in song that’s been told a million times or more, goes further with “Subdivisions” though. It tells listeners what happens to so many rebellious youths. They sellout. They buy in. They eventually ingratiate themselves to the wider society. Whether this is noble or terrible is up to listeners to decide.

There will be more Rush.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com