Willie. I want to be him when I grow up.

Project 365 Day #39

“Time After Time” by Willie Nelson

AE Stueve
1 min readFeb 8, 2023

--

“Time After Time” from the album The Great Divide, released in 2002

I look at this song the same way I look at Johnny Cash’s “Hurt.” Yes, Trent Reznor wrote and originally performed “Hurt” and his rendition is amazing. But Cash, I think, due to his age and life experiences, is able to take “Hurt” to a new level. It’s not necessarily better, but it resonates differently.

Cydni Lauper is great. If you were a red-blooded American kid in the 80s, you probably loved at least one of her songs. “Time After Time” was, weirdly, always one of my favorites. But in 2002 when Willie Nelson covered it, the song took on a new meaning for me. It’s difficult to quantify why and how.

And it’s only grown as I’ve aged and lived through some shit.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com