Look. What is in there? What is she looking at?

Project 365 Day #41

“Add It Up” by Violent Femmes

AE Stueve
1 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

“Add It Up” from the album Violent Femmes, released in 1983

Most songs on this album are “never skips” for me. But “Add It Up” is, today, as I write this, my favorite. Will that change before the end of the year? Probably. Change is good and opinions are fluid.

I can’t lie to you though. I was five when this album was originally released and I did not stumble upon it until the early 90s. But when I stumbled, I fell, and when I fell, I fell hard.

“Add It Up” is the most Violent Femmes Violent Femmes song. It’s rich, irreverent, and absolutely unique. Gordon Gano’s voice is grating the way true punk rock voices are grating.

You can’t help but hear. I can’t help but listen.

On repeat.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com