Hell. Can this be a book too?

Project 365 Day #43

“I’d Do Anything for Love (But I Won’t Do That)” -SINGLE EDIT, by Meatloaf

AE Stueve
1 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

“I’d Do Anything for Love (But I Won’t Do That)” from the album Bat Out of Hell II: Back Into Hell, released in 1993

Maybe it is just the middle of February and I am waxing romantic. Whatever the reason, this Meatloaf song always gets me. But seriously, it has to be the single version. I don’t have 11 minutes for you. Sorry.

I do have about five. Meatloaf’s almost operatic sound and classic, 70s rock stylings are on full display in “I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That).” More than that though, there is a sincerity on display here that is difficult to ignore.

Toward the end of the song, Lorraine Crosby sings, “I know the territory, I’ve been around/It’ll all turn to dust and we’ll all fall down/Sooner or later you’ll be screwing around.”

Meatloaf replies simply, “I won’t do that.”

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com