Gotta. Gotta be down.

Project 365 Day #46

“Mr. Brightside” by The Killers

AE Stueve
Feb 15, 2023

--

“Mr. Brightside” from the album Hot Fuss, released in 2004

You knew “Mr. Brightside” was going to end up on this list, right? I mean, as of December 2022, it had been in the UK Singles Chart Top 100 for 342 weeks.

It’s kind of popular.

I like it.

I feel like there were two types of rock music really hitting the airwaves in the 2000s. One was a canned sort of corporate rock, like the whiney little brother of grunge. And the other was whatever sound The Killers make.

I prefer to the latter to the former, especially when it has a nice beat, weird lyrics, strong guitar riffs, and Brandon Flowers’ intoxicating vocals. And that video! What is that video?

I’m pretty sure Mystique is in it.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com