Roses. They cut. You bleed.

Project 365 Day #49

“Joey” by Concrete Blonde

AE Stueve
Feb 18, 2023

--

“Joey” from the album Bloodletting, released in 1990

I was twelve when this song was released. At the time I didn’t understand it. I only felt there was a sadness to it that I could relate to. Fast forward to my depression diagnosis and this makes sense.

Anyway.

Lead singer of Concrete Blonde, Johnette Napolitano has said this was the most difficult song for her to write. This makes sense, considering it is about loving someone with alcoholism. Like I always say though, when you are specific, your art becomes universal. So this song is about more than loving someone with alcoholism. It’s about loving someone with any mental illness.

It’s a struggle we need art to address as beautifully as it is addressed in “Joey.”

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com