Wut. What is even going on here?

Project 365 Day #5

“Blinded By The Light” by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band

AE Stueve
1 min readJan 5, 2023

--

“Blinded By The Light” by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band from the album The Roaring Silence, released in 1976

Don’t ask me what this song is about. I do not know. Also, I do not want to know. All I can say about “Blinded By The Light” is that it is an epic seven-plus minute prog rock song that everyone needs to hear.

You know, when people talk about prog rock, they always talk about Rush. And there is nothing wrong with that. In fact, I promise you will see some Rush songs on this list. But I have to tell you, Manfred Mann’s Earth Band’s “Blinded By The Light” needs its due. This keyboard heavy anthem of weirdness is profound in its strangeness. But only the long version. Don’t come at me with that radio edit.

Be a real one.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com