Please. Hurry.

Project 365 Day #54

“Sylvia’s Mother” by Dr. Hook and the Medicine Show

AE Stueve
1 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

“Sylvia’s Mother” from the album Dr. Hook, released in 1972

This morning I’m hovering between waking life and dreaming. It was a long night. So I need a song that feels the way I feel: unsure, maybe happy, maybe sad. “Sylvia’s Mother” is that song.

Just like yesterday’s song, Shel Silverstein wrote it. Not to point out the obvious, but he has a way with words. “Sylvia’s Mother” is one of my favorites because your understanding of it is dependent on how you interpret Sylvia’s mother’s words.

I lean toward the idea that she’s telling the desperate caller where Sylvia is going, what she’s doing, and what she looks like so that he can find her and stop her from marrying “a fella down Galveston way.”

As a hopeless romantic, I can get with that.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com