Griots. Keepin’ madness at bay for centuries.

Project 365 Day #55

“I Need You” by Jon Batiste

AE Stueve
Feb 24, 2023

--

“I Need You” from the album WE ARE, released in 2021

Like most of you, I’m sure, I was introduced to Jon Batiste through the movie Soul. You know, that little Pixar number about the guy who dies still struggling to live his dream.

It’s a good movie. Batiste’s music is a perfect fit. Along with Herbie Hancock, Daveed Diggs and Questlove, he basically produced all the jazz we hear while watching. It’s great. We Are is even better.

Unfettered, happy, jazzy, bluesy, hip hoppy, and fun, “I Need You” is a great song on a great album. If you don’t like jazz, don’t worry, this song will still work for you. If you do like jazz, then open up your ear holes for this banger.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com