Close Up. Got his best side.

Project 365 Day #57

“Beyond the Sea” by Bobby Darin

AE Stueve
Feb 26, 2023

--

“Beyond the Sea” from the album That’s All, released in 1959

According to Wikipedia, “Beyond the Sea” is the English-language version of the French song “La Mer” by Charles Trenet. Who knew? Maybe music experts.

But whatever.

“Beyond the Sea” has always been one of those songs that I can’t skip. It’s classified as big band but also has a doo wop feel that makes me want to put on a fancy suit and go to a dance hall on a Friday night. I’d probably have a drink with gin in it and, like, do a jig or something.

Anyway, I’ve always enjoyed big band music, especially when it is accompanied by a smooth voice like Darin’s.

I think you’ll like it too.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com