Classic. You don’t see album covers like this anymore, kids.

Project 365 Day #68

“Africa” by Toto

AE Stueve
1 min readMar 9, 2023

--

“Africa” from the album Toto IV, released in 1982

Is this one of the most covered songs in history? I don’t know. It would not surprise me. This tells me that not only do schlubs like me who know nothing about music like it, but pros do too. That means, as best as I can guess, that not only does it hit all the AOR/pop rock musts that the fans adore but it also does some really cool technical things. You know, the kinds of things only musicians notice.

Don’t ask me what those are. I don’t know.

All I know is that the idea that “Africa” is a song about a werewolf on a quest to free himself of his curse hits hard enough to make me want to write that story . . .

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com