Simple. Most times the simplest album covers are the best.

Project 365 Day #70

“Rocket Man (I Think it’s Gonna be a Long, Long Time)” by Elton John

AE Stueve
1 min readMar 11, 2023

--

“Rocket Man (I Think it’s Gonna be a Long, Long Time)” from the album Honkey Chateau, released in 1972

Inspired by Ray Bradbury’s short story collected The Illustrated Man and David Bowie’s song “Space Oddity,” how could this song not be on my list?

It’s a beautiful, bittersweet tale about what life as an astronaut might be like, had the job of astronaut ever become commonplace. When I listen to it, part of me wishes it did and part of me is glad it did not. It’s complex, both musically and lyrically. But it’s also simple.

It’s a song about life. It’s a song about loss. It’s a song about missing the people you love while doing work to take care of them.

It’s the kind of song that will stand the test of time because it directly addresses the human condition.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com