Memphis. That sound looks good.

Project 365 Day #74

“Son of a Preacher Man” by Dusty Springfield

AE Stueve
Mar 15, 2023

--

“Son of a Preacher Man” from the album Dusty in Memphis, released in 1969

I can first remember hearing this song in its entirety was in 1994 when I listened to the Pulp Fiction soundtrack. Say what you will about Quentin Tarantino, he introduced a lot of us GenXers to some good, good music. I had heard the beat sampled earlier than that on the Cypress Hill banger, “Hits from the Bong” but in my naïve teenage mind had no idea it was a sample.

Anyway, “Son of a Preacher Man” is a great tune with an awesome hook. It also tells the all too familiar story of a preacher’s child who is… less than noble. In other words, the song hits all the right notes.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com