Chain Gang. Escape!

Project 365 Day #76

“I am a Man of Constant Sorrow” by The Soggy Bottom Boys

AE Stueve
1 min readMar 17, 2023

--

“I am a Man of Constant Sorrow” from the album Oh Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack, released in 2000

Though credited to American folk musician, Dick Burnett, he might not have written it. This makes sense. Folk songs, like myths and legends, have lives of their own. One version pops up here, another there, and they regularly intermingle to create something new.

In 2000, this version, credited to the band The Soggy Bottom Boys, but actually sung by Dan Tyminski, was released with the Coen Brothers film version of Homer’s The Odyssey. It a great version and it is a major plot point in the film.

It reintroduced me to country music. It took me back to my grandpa’s semi-truck riding across the country. It reminded me, at a time in my life when I needed reminding, good music wasn’t all rock and rap.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com