Bleeding Hearts. or something.

Project 365 Day #78

“Crimson & Clover” by Tommy James and the Shondells

AE Stueve
Mar 19, 2023

--

“Crimson & Clover” from the album Crimson & Clover, released in 1968

Keeping with the weird vibe from yesterday, I give you Tommy James and the Shondells’ perennial masterpiece, “Crimson & Clover.” Literally a #1 hit in 1969. This probably has a lot to do with the psychedelic feel of the song, but there is also some skilled musicianship taking place here. I’m no expert, but I have to guess that is what gives this song its staying power.

I mean, there were a lot of weird psychedelic pop songs coming out in the late 60s. Many of these songs are lost to time.

Not “Crimson & Clover” though. Never “Crimson & Clover.”

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com