The White Witch. And her tall boy.

Project 365 Day #90

“Second Hand News” by Fleetwood Mac

AE Stueve
1 min readMar 31, 2023

--

“Second Hand News” from the album Rumours, released in 1977

Sometimes I think Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham must have been like a couple of teenagers for, like, 40 years. They hooked up, they broke up, they loved, they fought, and, most importantly, they wrote songs about it.

Luckily for the world, they did not write like teenagers. In writing like pop geniuses, they gave the world some of the greatest break-up songs ever strummed out of dueling guitars.

“Second Hand News,” with lines like “One thing I think you should know/I ain’t gonna miss you when you go” shows an angry pettiness that I feel kind of bad about enjoying. That said, if Fleetwood Mac wouldn’t make this little ditty so catchy, I wouldn’t enjoy it so much.

So there’s that.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com