Growing. Strong roots make strong artists.

Project 365 Day #99

“Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)” by Digable Planets

AE Stueve
Apr 9, 2023

--

“Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)” from the album Reachin’ (A New Refutation of Time and Space),” released in 1993

One of my favorite “one hit wonders,” Digable Planets gave us this jazz influenced hip hop number at a time in my life when I was digging around the music scene for something different.

I liked rap.

I liked rock.

I had little to no understanding of jazz, blues, country, bluegrass, or any of the myriad of genres out there. So the sound displayed in “Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)” triggered in me a curiosity for different kinds of music that, for the most part, I have maintained for thirty years. I think this project is proof of that, yeah?

That’s cool.

See what else I’ve placed on Project 365 here.

--

--

AE Stueve

AE Stueve teaches and writes in Omaha, NE. Check out all of his available work at aestueve.com